Call us at : 011 4106 5208 / +91-7011197831

ODI World Cup | List of Players Who Represented Two Countries

Players take great pride in representing their country, especially if it is at the grandest stage of it all, the ODI World Cup. While most players have played for only one country in the 50-over mega event, four players have represented multiple countries in the ODI World Cups. Let us look at those who have turned out for more than one country in the ODI World Cups.

With the cricketing fiesta set to begin in October, make sure to earn exciting rewards on an ODI World Cup Betting platform by making exciting predictions.

Players who Represented Two Countries in ODI World Cups

Instances of players repre\senting more than one country are rare in cricket. Players have played the Under-19 World Cup for a country and go on to play for another nation in the senior event. However, four players have represented more than one country in ODI World Cup history.

  1. Eoin Morgan
  2. Ed Joyce
  3. Anderson Cummins
  4. Kepler Wessels

Let us look at these four players in detail:

  • Eoin Morgan – Ireland & England

Eoin Morgan, the talented southpaw, made his mark as a young Irish cricketer during the 2007 ODI World Cup. However, he had a World Cup campaign to forget. The then 20-year-old made just 91 runs in nine innings.

The left-handed batter switched his allegiance to England in 2009, and his batting skills earned him a spot in the 2011 World Cup in India. He was appointed the captain of England’s ODI team ahead of the 2015 World Cup, a campaign that saw them getting knocked out in the group stage.

After the hurtful performance in the 2015 World Cup, England made massive changes in their approach to the white-ball game, resulting in Morgan leading the team to the title in the 2019 edition. The Irishman retired from all forms of cricket in February 2023.

Another edition of the Big Bash League (BBL) is set to begin in December. Know the complete BBL schedule for the 2023-24 season.

  • Ed Joyce – England & Ireland

    Ed Joyce is another Irishman who represented both Ireland and England. The left-handed batter made his England debut in 2006 and played in the ODI World Cup the following year. Joyce had an excellent outing with the bat, scoring two half-centuries and amassing 152 runs in five outings.

    Five years later, Joyce left England. ICC gave him a special dispensation to represent Ireland, his country of birth. The Dublin-born cricketer played in the 2011 and 2015 World Cups. The 84 against West Indies in 2011 and the man of the match-winning knock of 112 against Zimbabwe in 2015  are the two most memorable knocks by the Irish batter in the World Cup. He retired from professional cricket in 2018.

  • Anderson Cummins – West Indies & Canada

All-rounder Anderson Cummins’ love for the game saw him representing West Indies and Canada. The fast bowler made his international debut for the West Indies in 1991. He was named in the Caribbean side’s World Cup squad. Though West Indies struggled in the tournament, Cummins took 12 wickets in six matches.

A good 15 years later, Cummins turned out for Canada in the 2007 World Cup. However, at 40, the Caribbean-born cricketer couldn’t make much of an impact. He took two wickets in three matches in the group stage. After the World Cup, Cummins didn’t feature for Canada.

  • Kepler Wessels – Australia & South Africa

Kepler Wessels, a left-hand batter, debuted for Australia in 1982, as his country of birth, South Africa, was banned from playing cricket during that period. In the 1983 World Cup, Wessels played three matches for Australia, in which he managed 92 runs, including a 76 against Zimbabwe.

Once South Africa’s ban was lifted, Wessels switched to play for the Proteas and captained them in the 1992 World Cup. He was impressive throughout the tournament, registering half-centuries against Australia, Zimbabwe, and England. South Africa reached the semi-finals, only to lose in controversial circumstances against England. Wessels quit international cricket in 1994.

Among the players mentioned above, only Morgan is the only player to have won the World Cup.

Concluding Thoughts

With cricketers plying their trade in various franchise leagues across the world, the number of players who will switch their allegiance from one country to another will increase in the coming years. More players will join the likes of Morgan, Joyce, Cummins, and Wessels in the club of players playing for multiple countries in the World Cup.Must Read:-


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this