Call us at : 011 4106 5208 / +91-7011197831

Queen Elizabeth II, Britain’s longest-reigning monarch, dies peacefully at 96

Queen Elizabeth II, Britain’s longest-reigning monarch, dies peacefully at 96

By Sanjay Maurya

Queen Elizabeth II (6 February 1952 – 8 September 2022), the longest-reigning monarch in British history, died on Thursday (September 8). She was 96 years old. Charles, 73, the eldest son of Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip, became king after his mother’s death and would be called King Charles III. Queen Elizabeth II ruled for 70 years.

In a statement on Thursday evening, the king said: “The death of my beloved mother, Her Majesty the Queen, is a moment of greatest sadness for me and all my family members.” “The Queen died peacefully at Balmoral this afternoon,” Buckingham Palace said.

“The King and the Queen Consort will be at Balmoral this evening and return to London tomorrow,” the palace said. The royal family – King CharlesIII, grandchildren William and Harry, and their families – gathered at their Balmoral retreat in the Scottish Highlands, where Queen Elizabeth II spent her final days. There have been 61 monarchs of England and Britain spread over approximately 1200 years.

Queen Elizabeth II

  • Born: 21 April 1926, Bruton Street, London, United Kingdom
  • Died: 8 September 2022, Balmoral Castle, United Kingdom
  • Full name: Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor
  • Spouse: Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh (m. 1947–2021)
  • Children: King Charles III, Prince Andrew, Duke of York, Anne, Princess Royal, Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex
  • Grandchildren: Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, MORE

Since October last year, Queen Elizabeth II had been battling health issues that made it difficult for her to stand or move. The Queen died after the palace announced on Thursday that doctors were “concerned” about her health and recommended that she remain under medical supervision. Her death leads to 10 days of national mourning, under a long-running plan known as “Operation London Bridge”. Her son Charles became king upon her death. The announcement comes a day after the 96-year-old monarch canceled her Privy Council meeting. Two days earlier the Queen appointed Liz Truss as the 15th Prime Minister of her reign.

Britain celebrated the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee in June with grand events to mark 70 years of service to the nation. As the UK celebrated its Platinum Jubilee milestone with royal parades, street parties, and pageantry, the Queen thanked the nation in a letter, saying she was “humbled and deeply touched”. Crowned in 1953, Queen Elizabeth II became the longest-serving British monarch in September 2015, surpassing her great-grandmother, Queen Victoria. This year, she became the world’s second longest-reigning monarch.

List of British monarchs

Since the political union of the Kingdom of England and the Kingdom of Scotland on 1 May 1707, there have been 13 British monarchs.

  1. Anne (Anne Stuart) – 1 May 1707 – 1 August 1714
  2. George I (George Louis) – 1 August 1714 – 11 June 1727
  3. George II (George Augustus) – 11 June 1727 – 25 October 1760
  4. George III (George William Frederick) – 25 October 1760 – 29 January 1820
  5. George IV (George Augustus Frederick) – 29 January 1820 – 26 June 1830
  6. William IV (William Henry) – 26 June 1830 – 20 June 1837
  7. Victoria (Alexandrina Victoria) – 20 June 1837 – 22 January 1901
  8. Edward VII (Albert Edward) – 22 January 1901 – 6 May 1910
  9. George V (George Frederick Ernest Albert) – 6 May 1910 – 20 January 1936
  10. Edward VIII (Edward Albert Christian George Andrew Patrick David) – 20 January 1936 – Abdicated 11 December 1936
  11. George VI (Albert Frederick Arthur George) – 11 December 1936 – 6 February 1952
  12. Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary) – 6 February 1952 – 8 September 2022
  13. Charles III (Charles Philip Arthur George) – 8 September 2022 – Present

Must Read:- 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this