Call us at : 011 4106 5208 / +91-7011197831

Roger Binny elected 36th BCCI president: Ganguly’s first reaction, new office bearers, and more

Roger Binny elected 36th BCCI president: Ganguly’s first reaction, new office bearers, and more

By Sanjay Maurya

The former star of the Indian cricket team and member of the 1983 World Cup winning team, Roger Binny was named as the 36th president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on October 18. He replaces Sourav Ganguly, who held the post since 2019.

This decision was taken at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of BCCI held in Mumbai.

Roger Binny is the president of the Karnataka State Cricket Association. But now he will leave this post as soon as he becomes the BCCI President. Binny has been a medium-pace bowler of his time. He played 8 matches in the 1983 World Cup, taking 18 wickets.

Roger Binny

Indian cricketer

  • Born: 19 July 1955 (age 67 years), Bengaluru
  • Spouse: Cynthia
  • Nationality: Indian
  • Children: Stuart Binny, Lisa, Stuart, Laura
  • Batting style: Right-handed
  • Number of centuries: 0
  • Bowling: Right-arm fast-medium

Let us tell you that apart from 67-year-old Roger Binny, the next set of office bearers was a mere formality as all were set to be elected unopposed. “The following members were elected as the new Office Bearers of the BCCI: (a) President: Mr. Roger Binny (b) Vice President: Mr. Rajeev Shukla (c) Secretary: Mr. Jay Shah (d) Joint Secretary: Mr. Devajit Saikia (e) Treasurer: Mr. Ashish Shelar,” the BCCI release stated.

“One representative of the General Body was elected in the Apex Council of the BCCI: (a) Mr. MKJ Majumdar. Two representatives in the Indian Premier League Governing Council were elected: (a) Mr. Arun Singh Dhumal; and (b) Mr. Avishek Dalmiya,” Binny said. It has also been revealed that BCCI will not endorse Ganguly for the post of ICC chairman and will support the current chairman Greg Barclayfor a second term.

“I wish Roger (Binny) all the best. The new group will take this forward. BCCI is in great hands. Indian cricket is strong so I wish them all the luck,” Ganguly told news agency ANI on Tuesday (October 18).

The PTI report said that a few days ago, stakeholders had a meeting with Sourav Ganguly in New Delhi. In this, Ganguly expressed his desire that he wants to continue as the BCCI President. But the stakeholders had told that this is not possible to happen. Although now report said that Ganguly was also offered the post of IPL chairman, he turned down the offer.

List of presidents of the Board of Control for Cricket in India

No. Name Took Office Left Office
1 R. E. Grant Govan 1928 1933
2 Sir Sikandar Hayat Khan 1933 1935
3 Sir Hamidullah Khan 1935 1937
4 Sir K. S. Digvijaysinhji 1937 1938
5 P. Subbarayan 1938 1946
6 Anthony de Mello 1946 1951
7 J. C. Mukherji 1951 1954
8 Maharajkumar of Vizianagram 1954 1956
9 Sardar Surjit Singh Majithia 1956 1958
10 R. K. Patel 1958 1960
11 M. A. Chidambaram 1960 1963
12 Maharaja Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad 1963 1966
13 Z. R. Irani 1966 1969
14 A. N. Ghose 1969 1972
15 P. M. Rungta 1972 1975
16 Ramprakash Mehra 1975 1977
17 M. Chinnaswamy 1977 1980
18 S. K. Wankhede 1980 1982
19 N. K. P. Salve 1982 1985
20 S. Sriraman 1985 1988
21 B. N. Dutt 1988 1990
22 Madhavrao Scindia 1990 1993
23 I. S. Bindra 1993 1996
24 Raj Singh Dungarpur 1996 1999
25 A. C. Muthiah 1999 2001
26 Jagmohan Dalmiya 2001 2004
27 Ranbir Singh Mahendra 2004 2005
28 Sharad Pawar 2005 2008
29 Shashank Manohar 2008 2011
30 N. Srinivasan 2011 2013
Jagmohan Dalmiya 2013 2013
-30 N. Srinivasan 2013 2014
Shivlal Yadav 2014 2014
-26 Jagmohan Dalmiya 2015 2015
-29 Shashank Manohar 2015 2016
34 Anurag Thakur 2016 2017
C. K. Khanna 2017 2019
35 Sourav Ganguly 2019 2022
36 Roger Binny 2022 Incumbent

Roger Binny Career Information

An important member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team. Although Roger was a strong fielder and aggressive hitter, it was mainly his bowling that kept him in the Indian team for a long time.

  • Test debut vs Pakistan at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Nov 21, 1979
  • Last Test vs Pakistan at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Mar 13, 1987
  • ODI debut vs Australia at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Dec 06, 1980
  • Last ODI vs Australia at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Oct 09, 1987

Must Read:- 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this